top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaynes Academy

National Poetry Month at Haynes

April is National Poetry Month, and in the month of April, the Spring 2022 Creative Writing Class at Haynes is going to share a new student poem for every school day. Mr. Windham's students have been exploring a variety of poetic styles and techniques, and each student in this semester's Creative Writing class has chosen one of their poems to share with you. We'll start with this one from junior Lana Alsghair:


The Vile Touch

The flower wilted with my venomous touch

But I can’t help but touch, such

That it’s hard to breathe, hard to hear, hard to escape

Escape what, do not ask me, but I'm trying to reshape

My brain and can’t help but bewail

To Nature’s dearest Mother since all ‘er trees go frail

At the presence of my hand, I feel as though I hex

To all of nature, from iguanas to indigo to insects,

Surrounded by forests, there’s no way to fix this

Maybe that’s the purpose, people plead “ignorance is bliss”

But am I the issue? Must I really discover what goes on?

Or do I sit still and wish upon

The next falling star, and hope I can wake

Up, Before my mind gets to the point of break…

In the distance, I see a slender and silent creek,

As silent as the grave, just to take a long-awaited peak

What might happen if I gawk at my figure?

What might happen if I reached into the unfamiliar?

I mustn't get too close and graze my reflection, for I fear

That such a vile entity could reappear.


95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Crossing Over on the Ferry

This weekend marks the end of National Poetry Month, but our Creative Writing students will soon begin working on their "Final Projects," which is supposed to be the creative piece to serve as the cul

"In Sunshine and in Shadow..."

Edgar Allen Poe is often thought of as the master of the macabre, but his poetry emphasized the importance of light in the face of darkness (the title of this blog post is a line from Poe's poem "Eldo

"When rules are thrown to the wind..."

Mr. Windham was particularly pleased to have a student turn in a free verse poem about freedom and limits and rules and chaos. Enjoy this poem by senior Katherin Wood: Chaos Chaos It runs freely thro

bottom of page